Release Date: 1976
Label: Capitol
Catalog Number: ST-11576

compilations || home


Leo Kottke, Bill Barber, Bill Peterson, Bill Berg, Jack Smith, Larry Taylor, Paul Lagos, Kenny Buttrey


Denny Bruce

Track List

Side One

  1. Morning is the Long Way Home (Kottke) 3:40 Instrumental Break
  2. June Bug (Kottke) 2:12
  3. When Shrimps Learn to Whistle (Kottke) 3:30
  4. Room 8 (Kottke) 2:58
  5. Cripple Creek (traditional arranged by Leo Kottke/ASCAP) 1:55
  6. Pamela Brown (Tom T. Hall, Hallnote Music/BMI) 4:03
  7. Standing on the Outside (L. Kottke - M. Kottke) 2:31

Side Two

  1. Grim to the Brim (Kottke) 3:10
  2. Power Failure (Gary Booker-Keith Reid, Chrysalis Music/ASCAP) 2:22
  3. You Tell Me Why (Ron Elliot, Clears Music, Inc/BMI) 3:56
  4. Why Ask Why? (Norman Gimbel-Ken Lauber, Ensign Music Corp./BMI) 2:09
  5. Open Country Joy (Constant Travler) (J. McLaughlin, Chimnoy Music/BMI) 3:39
  6. All Through the Night (Trad. Arr./Kottke) 1:38
  7. The Scarlatti Rip-off (Kottke) 3:26


Producer: Denny Bruce
All Leo Kottke compositions published by Overdrive Music/ASCAP
Art Direction: John Van Hamersveld
Photography: John Seidermann
Snapshot of Leo Kottke
BBC Radio
Manchester, England
(Photo by D. Bruce)

Every record I've made has come back to haunt me: clams I didn't spot the first time through; mixes where we went one of two ways, and went wrong; and finally some tunes on every record that worked out just right.
  So six of these re-releases have been edited or re-mixed according to the way they feel to me today, or according to how they are now performed.
  The rest felt OK the first time.
  - Leo Kottke

The guitars on this record are: Bozo, NBN, Guild, Martin 28 conversion, Whitebook, Noble, Gibson B-45, Lo Prinzi and Baldwin 12 strings; Gibson Gospel and Mark IV, Kohno and National steel six strings.

compilations || home || top

000webhost logo